The Sock Bun

Carrie Bradshaw wearing a sock bun in season 3 of Sex and the City

The other day, I was walking down the street, minding my own beauty business when an older woman walking past stopped me and said, “I love your sock bun!” I beamed at her, appreciative and, I must say, a little surprised that she knew the scientific name of my hairstyle. What a nice thing to say! I thought. That woman made me feel so good about myself! Well, that is, until she said, “My 12-year-old daughter wears sock buns all the time!” Whaaa?

Now hold on just one minute! 12-year-old girls have already ruined Forever 21 for me. I will not let them ruin sock buns for me as well!

On second thought, maybe I should admire this little 12-year-old girl.

Carrie Bradshaw and bun, in a season 4 episode

Clearly, she has excellent taste in hairstyles, and I’m guessing she’s more chic than any of her little, (obviously) annoying 12-year-old friends. Besides, I only starting wearing sock buns after I saw Sarah Jessica Parker wearing them as Carrie Bradshaw in numerous episodes of Sex and the City.

Here’s what I’ve realized: a thirty-something woman can rock a sock bun, a twenty-something chick can wear one, and, it seems, even a 12-year-old girl can pull one off! There’s something to this hairstyle, my friends. It’s the kind of hairstyle that’s quite rare in the beauty world. It’s…it’s…ageless.

Now you may be asking, “What the hee-haw-ho is a sock bun?!”

I’m going to let adorable blog sensation, Mr. Kate, explain:

Eazy-peezy, right?!

I like to accessorize my sock bun with colorful bows or flower pins to dress up or dress down the bun and bring a bit of my own personality to the hairstyle. They’re also awesome in the summertime because they keep your hair off your neck, thus keeping you nice and cool in the heat.

Sock buns – keeping girls of all ages looking fashionable from head to toe…

literally! Get it?! HAHAHAHA.

Oh gawd…that 12-year-old chick is definitely cooler than me.

