The 70th Annual Golden Globes: My Top 10 Gorgeous Gals!

“Oh, daaaahling, you look absolutely maaaahvelous in your couturrrre.”

“Guuuurrrrllllll, you be WORKIN’ that dress! You lookin’ DAMN fine, okaay!”

“So, like, I like totally, like LOVE that dress. Like, OH. Em. GEE. You look totes amazeballs! Like, where’d you get it?!”

However you want to say it, these lovely ladies looked incredible at last night’s 70th Annual Golden Globes Awards! There was color, there was sparkle, there was glamour, there was muscle (holy cow those celebs are in good shape!), there were updos, there were downdos, and, as far as I’m concerned, these gorgeous gals were ALL do’s!

Countless dresses graced that famous red carpet last night, but I chose my ten favorites so as not to kill you with couture! Although, if you ask me, there are far worse ways to die. Let the countdown commence! (Click the pics to enlarge)

#10 Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior Couture

#10 Jennifer Lawrence Christian DiorJennifer+Lawrence+70th+Annual+Golden+Globe+5N-Exselt0fl

As the new face of Dior, it’s JLaw’s very important fashion-y duty to don the label whenever possible (Ugh…what a chore!) so it was no surprise that she showed up last night in a Raf Simons (the new designer of Dior) creation. The girl really knows how to wear red and I thought the metallic belt kept the look young and modern. Her hair and makeup were kept simple, and her jewelry was very limited, but in my opinion, that allowed for her natural beauty and elegance to shine through. What a stunner she is! Jennifer Lawrence can do no wrong in my eyes.

#9 Rosario Dawson in Antonio Berardi

#9 Rosario Dawson in Antonio BerardiRosario+Dawson+70th+Annual+Golden+Globe+Awards+-0A7YITbk1ql

I’m trying really hard to create good karma for myself because I’d really like to be reincarnated and come back as the color of Rosario Dawson’s gorgeous Antonio Berardi dress. I’d also like to have her flawless caramel-colored skin, please, if that’s not too much to ask. With that dress and that skin I’d be unstoppable. Look how she’s laughing! She’s saying, “Look how perfect and amazing I look! And look how I am totally rockin’ this peplum trend! Aren’t you jelly?!” Rub it in, Rosario, you gorgeous creature.

 

 

#8 Julianne Hough in Monique Lhuillier

#8 Julianne Hough Monique LhuillierNBC's "70th Annual Golden Globe Awards" - Red Carpet Arrivals

Julianne Hough, in a Monique Lhuillier ballgown, looked absolutely beautiful last night! This was definitely a dress made for the red carpet. I usually don’t love poofy dresses but I think Julianne totally pulled it off! The tulle skirt is fluffy but not overwhelming and I love the high neckline embroidered with sparkly gold pieces! I think she looks divine!

 

 

 

 

#7 Amy Poehler in Stella McCartney

Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 12.46.33 AM70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - Arrivals

As if Amy Poehler couldn’t get any cooler, the Golden Globes host showed up in this badass, crazy-sexy Stella McCartney tuxedo number! She looked effortless and beyond cool, and despite the fact that the awesome actress wasn’t in a couture gown, this sleek suit looked totally appropriate on the red carpet. The neckline was low but not too low and that diamond necklace was the perfect accessory to the suit! And those shoes! Amy’s ensemble was so fresh and unexpected and I loved that! Honestly, I didn’t think I could love this chick any more, but look at that! I can!

 

 

 

#6 Anne Hathaway in Chanel Couture

#6 Anne Hathaway Chanel 2009Screen shot 2013-01-14 at 1.05.22 AMWhen Emma Watson first cut her hair into that now-famous pixie I became obsessed. It’s grown out now so I’ve redirected my (very normal) obsession onto Anne Hathaway’s new cut. With every red carpet appearance the Les Mis actress makes, I love it more and more! Last night she paired her hot new hair with a white Chanel Couture gown that wasn’t new – in fact it’s a 2009 couture piece – and the actress looked stunning! Usually, because I’m so into color, whenever I see a white dress show up on the red carpet I think, White? Really? Out of all the beautiful colors out there to wear you chose white? Then Anne showed up in this, and with the simple stud earrings, the gorgeous hair, and the minimal makeup, my mind was totally changed! She looks lovely and the look altogether is so fresh! She’s glowing, for gosh sakes! So beautiful, Anne!

 

#5 Nicole Kidman in Alexander McQueen

#5 Nicole Kidman in Alexander McQueen70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - ArrivalsI can count on one hand how many times I’ve disliked a Nicole Kidman red carpet look. Actually, I can count on no hands how many times I’ve disliked a Nicole Kidman red carpet look because I’ve never not liked a Nicole Kidman red carpet look! Nicole’s one of those actresses that, before the red carpet show even begins, you say, “Oh! What’s Nicole gonna wear?!” The woman’s a freakin’ goddess to begin with. You put a long gown on her and she’s the most statuesque human being on the planet! Last night she chose Alexander McQueen, my fave fave fave! I swear Sarah Burton, who took over for the late designer, has Alexander McQueen’s spirit speaking through her because her designs are so quintessentially McQueen it’s crazy! I love that Nicole chose McQueen, too, because it’s a very edgy choice for her! She’s wearing studs, guys. Nicole Kidman is wearing studs! I’m totally loving it!

#4 Michelle Dockery in Alexander Vauthier

#4 Michelle Dockery in Alexander Vauthier70th Annual Golden Globe Awards - ArrivalsIf you don’t recognize this actress let me give you a hint…it’s Lady Mary! That was more than a hint actually, I just told you who it is! If you still don’t know then you need to get off this blog right now and go watch Downton Abbey. Like now. You need to go watch it now. Go. You’ll thank me. For all the rest of you awesome, Brit-loving intellectuals who watch Downton Abbey, you must have cheered when you saw Michelle show up at the Globes in this gorgeous Alexander Vauthier creation! The girl is a sight to be seen! The hair? Perfect. The little dangly emerald earrings? Spot on. The high neck, the gold bodice, the long white column? Come on! This is how an awards dress is supposed to look, my friends! You go, girl!

#3 Emily Blunt in Michael Kors

#3 Emily Blunt in Michael KorsScreen shot 2013-01-13 at 11.10.11 PMOkay, clearly I’m on a gold kick because I’m loving every gold dress I see! Emily Blunt + this Michael Kors dress = epic gorgeousness. She’s another celeb that can’t go wrong on the red carpet! She’s usually a pale, English rose, but look how tan and gorgey she looks here! Emily must have gone tanning. Actually, who am I kidding? Celebrities don’t go to the tanning booth when they need a tan. They book a first-class flight to St. Barts and call it a day! That tan is sure to be real! (And thus cancer-causing, folks. Ladies, don’t go tanning!) She does look really gorgeous, though. My favorite part of the whole look is the ruby and pink earrings she’s wearing. And I love the simple bun, too! Emily Blunt is flawless.

#2 Nicole Richie in Naeem Khan

#2 Nicole Richie in Naeem KhanFrederic J. Brown:AFPScreen shot 2013-01-14 at 2.18.45 AMBefore I saw my number one choice for my favorite Golden Globes look, I saw Nicole Richie in this gown and said, “That’s it. It’s over. She’s won my heart.” This dress is so unbelievably cool, I can’t even get a handle on it. Let me try and break it down. #1: the color. What do you call that shade of blue? It is the most gorgeous shade of blue I have ever seen. #2: the entirrreeee gown is embroidered. From head to toe. Embroidered and bejeweled! It’s a double whammy. #3: It’s long sleeved and Nicole isn’t showing any skin, yet the dress and her in the dress are incredibly sexy. Fabulous. The makeup is lovely too and the hair is very old-Hollywood glamour. This chick has got major style and I’m so thrilled she made such a statement at the Golden Globes!

#1 Kate Hudson in Alexander McQueen

#1 Kate H. Alexander McQueen Jason Merritt:Getty ImagesScreen shot 2013-01-14 at 2.26.47 AMKate Hudson. In this Alexander McQueen dress. What the what?! I really don’t know what to say. Kate Hudson you’ve stunned me! Alexander McQueen, I’d sell my soul for you. Sarah Burton, can you please pass that comment on to Mr. McQueen? You guys are epic.

This is my favorite dress of the night. 

All photos: Getty

